I have some questions regarding roleplaying in general

Spd7693

I know I sound like a noob and maybe I am a noob, but until last year the only place I knew about, available for role-playing, was the website Chatango. Seriously! I have about 30 roleplays done there. A few lasted for months, even years. Of course, since everybody gradually started leaving that apparently sinking ship, I had to look for other places too. That's how I came across this here and... Basically feel lost.

Even though I have 5 years of experience and have created really good stories, I still feel like a laughing stock. Here is what I need guidance about:

1. Artwork has always been a problem. I create most of my modern characters in Sims, but that doesn't seem enough. (And Sims 4 broke my HDD last week.) I could ask for somebody to draw them for me, but it ain't cheap and I have a lot. (I don't mean modern only, I just like creating stories.) So most of the time I just describe them verbally. Is this acceptable? I'd like to have honest answers.
  2. Group RPs have always been a problem for me. I always prefer a one-on-one, because that way I at least always know when my turn is. If someone could teach me, I'd be grateful. Yeah. 5 years and still no group.
  3. So far I've felt... Let's say intimidated from roleplaying with men. I myself don't like playing female characters as the main characters, though I have done it. But I am a man and if there is going to be something happening between our characters, I'd like my partner to be a female. Just to feel things happening naturally. So is it OK that I try to filter my options? Disclaimer: That doesn't mean I strictly aim for romance, even if it's always an option and I never rule it out. And no, I am NOT USING ROLEPLAYING AS A DATING SOURCE! I'd be glad if I happen to find my partner in life by doing it, but this is not my goal.