Lack Of Imaginetion

Natalija

Queen of LaLa Land, state of Capital Bulshit :P
I like to think I'm a decent writer and all, but one thing has alvays been my flaw. I can not step outsyde my comfort zone, vhen it comes to writing chars/plots that I dont have a irl basis to draw on, to make them belivable. In short, I can only write things that are in-line vith my irl tastes/expiriences. Once, I entered a RP vhere I played a noble woman, entering a romantic relationship vith a prince. I suspekted at the start it wuld end in disaster, but I tryed it aniway, after some convincing from my partners that "you just need to use your imaginetion". Sure.... if I had any. That, vas probably the most miserable excuse of a character I ever maked. Nothing she sayed/did vas convincing, not even to my-self, it vas all... wrong... or build on cliches that wuld make a third-rate medieval movie script-writer blush. Eventualy I abandoned that RP, because I vas too embarassed at my half-assed atempts to make her work.

Second part of this "lack of imaginetion" thing, is that I absolutly suck at writing emotional states I have no expirience irl. Romance, for example. I'm not a romantic woman, I'm too hardened and desenzitized for that. Very few things, from very few ppl irl can stir those kinds of feelings in me. Passion - sure. In fact, passion is probably the emotional state I'm best at conveying, and I just like to substitute it in place of romance vhere I can, you know, "slip by" on that. Thats vhat I did alot in the afore-mentioned RP, and it just looked out of place, on a medieval noble woman character, who wuld obviusly act alot more reserved/shy/subtle then that. So then I rezorted to cliche reactions, that just maked her look even more fake and predictable.

So basicly, this in-ability to step out of the box, has limited me to playing a very niche type of characters vhich I can in some way identify vith. Any ideas on how to mitigate that flaw?