"Locked in the Cellar" Horror story (Link to narrated version in the bottom)

Dr. Creepster

The story you are about to read is written while I am hiding in my cellar from whoever is in my house. I've got no signal, so I can't call the police. But I hope that this text at least will clarify what have happened... If I won't be able to.
For you to be able to completely understand the situation, I will have to give some background information I am 20 years old, and I have been working as a waiter for a couple of years. The wage is okay and I manage to get a good amount of tips.
I have lived in England my entire life, but recently moved to a new city due to a rather bad breakup with my former boyfriend, whose name is Matt. We broke up due to him having anger issues, which suddenly appeared after a series of events.
The new surroundings were good enough. I got a new job quickly, and seemed to be settling in fine, even though I didn't know that many people in the city apart from the ones I met at work.
The house I have managed to rent is definitely not one of the fancy kinds, but it was the only thing that I could find at a reasonable price on such a short notice. The house itself is not that big, and consists of a main room, which contains a living room with an ”open kitchen”. There is a door to the cellar on the right side of the room, and a slim hallway leading to the bedroom and toilet, on the left side. The cellar is not really a big deal. It is rather small, and is mainly filled up by the laundry machine and the dryer.
Now, lets get to how I ended up here.
About 2 weeks after I started on my new job, I was beginning to know the regulars at the restaurant, which made the job a bit more entertaining, because you could converse easier with the people.
One day a guy, who usually comes for lunch, walks up to me and asks: