The Rules of Writing

What do you think of this guide?

• It's great! I learned things!

• It's good, but I already understand all of these concepts.

• It's alright, but needs some serious editing.

• It's not informative, or distributes information which is patently incorrect at a fundamental level.

Results are only viewable after voting.

Nilum

The Wanderer Returned
Benefactor
The Rules of Writing

I’m not a professional writer. I’m not a professor of English or similar, I don’t even possess a college degree. (Though, hopefully, given a couple more years, I will!) So keep in mind that, like with any article written with the intent to give advice, that your mileage may vary. I’m sharing what I’ve seen to be tried and tested truths to writing which have consistently worked for me.

This is also something of a proto-guide. Guide 00—something that’s coming before any of my other guides, so I can get used to the way Storytellerscircle does things. Like formatting, for example. Other guides will likely have more specific purposes in mind, whereas this is fairly generalized knowledge across a broad variety of subject matter.

Over the years that I’ve been writing stories, I’ve come to compose a personal list of rules I attempt to abide by. Exceptions always exist for every rule, but nonetheless, I try to keep to them. I’ve tried out many different rules, and these are the ones that, through trial and error over the years, have survived. These rules cover a large variety of subjects, from character design to world building, but are all unified under the same premise—they’re rules about my writing. Rules I use as guide posts to try and ensure my content achieves three objectives.
  1. It provokes an emotion.
  2. It’s informative, or at the very least, it’s thought provoking.
  3. I enjoy writing it, and can learn from it to keep improving my own writing over time.