To Fluff or not to Fluff, the real RP question.

0rganist

Eternal Wanderer of the Plains
So y'all.

Lately upon doing some ding dang writing, I have realized that upon improving my writing here and there, I have come to love detail in my paragraphs, or even sentences.

However, it has proven hard for me to keep something simple, without feeling that I'm failing my partner by not describing something enough.

Recently, thanks to one of the veteran-writers here, I started learning and reading on scene setting, and basic screenplay that can be implemented into a RP - which is great! I want to improve in every aspect I can. But I feel like for my personal style, I would not be able to write something so simple and to the point without risking losing quality.

This has proven to be an issue specially with dialogue, since I don't want it to become a "character A speaks", second post "character B responds to action and speaks also" because in its core, that also sounds very... bland? Kind of like a response to what the previous character did rather than do something to drive the plot forward...?

I just want different points of views on this, is fluff good in certain aspects and if so, when would it be considered a good thing?

If not, why not? How can I overcome fluffing something when there is a lack of subsistence in a post?

I think the collaborative post should help when it comes to 1x1 discussion. It turns one line of going back and forth into a full scene of discussion, and you can actually interrupt people mid sentence, if you plan things that way :)

With a bit of coordination, it should help reduce that source of fluff massively.

It's just the matter of finding the right spot between details and too much fluff. It's a bit difficult but collaborating with your partner(s) should make this easier by working together on a post, like Ragenaut said.