Where Will Life Take Me

Ciara

It's so hard (especially for me) not knowing where I'm going or what my future will look like. I like to KNOW, PLAN, UNDERSTAND what it is I have to do.

The hard part is not achieving the goal, it's figuring out what my goal is.

I'm a freshman in college so of course I'm having this problem right now. First I wanted to major in journalism but I hated the only school that offered journalism in my state so now I'm majoring in business. I want to work for Eaton because my dad works there (so I have connections), it's a great company to be apart of, and it's international so I would be able to travel the world. I'm not good at numbers but I'm good at interactions with people so, as of right now, I'm leaning towards either concentrating in Marketing or HR. I'm really interested in sales, but I want that one on one interaction with the consumer and nowadays I feel like big companies (like Eaton) only deal with other companies which bores me. Another catch is the fact that Eaton hires engineers and trains them to become salespeople (Eaton is a power-oriented business so having a salesrep that understands the product helps).

So, because of that, I've thought about majoring in Engineering. There are so many problems with that idea though:
1. I don't know anything about engineering and math has never been my strength.
2. I would lose a year of college work because my business credits probably wouldn't transfer to engineer credits.
3. The only reason I'm even considering engineering is to get a job with Eaton.

Someone told me that their school offered an Engineering Management major so I looked to see if my school did as well; they do, but it is only offered as a graduate degree.

I could double major but that is a lot of work and I don't even know if I am good at engineering, let alone what engineering is all about.