Fantasy, or Sci-fi?

Phoenix

A jack of many trades
I would love to get to know fellow roleplayers, and their favorite genres! So I'll ask, which would you prefer? Fantasy, with magic, elves, and giants? Or Sci-fi with aliens and mechs?

I'd do either, but I lean more toward fantasy. I like sci-fi, but I'm not very good at creating those types of worlds.

Incredibly difficult for me to choose, in all honesty- I grew up on a lot of fantasy narratives, but have found myself drawn to Sci-fi recently. I think that - for roleplaying - it is much easier for me to work in fantasy settings. You just get to relax - while throwing elves with spears at eachother, lol.

I know you expect a simple answer to this. But there isn't one for me. Genre isn't enough on it's own merit to draw attention. You also need Tone.

For example. Lord Of The Rings is fantasy. But it has an entirely different tone from another fantasy series, Percy Jackson.

The Same with Sci-Fi. Bladerunner Is significantly different from, Ready Player One.

I'd love to debate the importance of Genre>Tone vs. Tone>Genre. But for now sadly, I have to say, I like them both equally.

DON'T MAKE ME CHOOSE, MIO AMORE! Places arm overhead and falls on the couch all dramatic, then giggles Just teasing, but yeah, I can't truly choose one over the other, I love all. So, I'm going with the invisible option for both.