[Fantasy] The West Marches

My lords and ladies, I come in search of someone who is willing to join a party of adventurers selected by the baron of a treacherous land to search for a kidnapped duke! Well, that's the gist of it anyway. The West Marches is a large multi-adventure campaign setting that I've been playing in for about two years. Small settlements, desolate cities, and expansive forests are all that is left of the once great Empire that thrived here; there are very few exceptions. Through these adventures, I've developed a couple of characters that I'd like to explore in a narrative sense. As such, I'll be pulling my two years of experience in this setting to drive the story with along with adventures both new, and old.

Now, the character that I will be playing is James Blackwater, a destitute ship captain who is currently looking for mercenary work and gladly accepts the baron's call for help. In the previous adventure, a wizard, rogue and ranger set out with Blackwater to find the duke. But we could make adjustments according to our interests.

With that said, you are more than welcome to create whatever sort of character you like. But the idea I'm particularly looking for is a love-hate relationship between the rogue character (who was named Sparrow in the previous adventure) and James. Sparrow is a spiteful rogue, the kind that fits the archetype pretty well in any fantasy setting, who is only out for herself and her sister back home. While the two initially hate each other, Sparrow's eventual death leads James to quest for her resurrection (it's kinda wonky at first, but is interesting enough once death is explained. Go figure, it's a fantasy setting).