Tips and Knowledge for someone new to RP

Arthus_Vox

I'm rather new to all of this, so if there is any pointers and things you may have learned starting out that you could pass on?

Hmm well I could not think to say its a tip more as a thought from some one who has roll played across many types buuut if you don't mind allowing me to humor you ..!

When it comes to rping the single most experience I come across is how new players have a hard time acting as their own characters in that they normally don't have some pre-thoughts before hand to flesh out that character, they often act more themselves than that of their character making it kinda awkward at the start till they kinda hit their groove. I dare say the hardest thing for new folks in the rp world is to remove themselves and think in act in omission of self in place of that of their characters. More or less is to define the rules of your own character and to follow them with breaking them being something of a heavy plot point, a good way to define these rules is to play out random encounters inside your head.

But eh maybe that's just me!

Hmm well I could not think to say its a tip more as a thought from some one who has roll played across many types buuut if you don't mind allowing me to humor you ..!