Too Intimidating To Join In On An Rp

I feel like when I see the pages, I'm reading a book. While I'm not incapable of typing roleplays book-sized, I'm not very good at description. I also have a preferred "Comfort Zone" when it comes to word usage, so I don't typically find myself using a lot of different descriptions until it's too late. Plus, I see some really awesome ideas and topics for RPs, and I say to myself, "Why can't you join in?" I want to, I really want to, but I feel myself thinking, "What if they just ignore you for being too bad? What if you aren't as good as they are? Just delete the post before they see it."

So yeah.... Is there any tips for help?

First tip I can give you is... stepping out of your comfort zone, although asking for help like you just did is already a big step towards improvement.
Truth is, to be a good writer, like in every other aspect, you need to practice. Roleplays like the ones in this forums make very good practice.
Ignoring someone's posts regardless of the quality, is not a thing. There's good writers, bad writers, average writers... so many different kinds. Some might be better at writing modern time stories, fantasy stories, sci-fi, etc.
Addressing the amount of words you could use, such as synonyms or simply to widen the variety of your vocabulary, I for one use Thesaurus, a web that is available for everyone and is also incredibly helpful, offering plenty of alternatives if you don't want to use a certain word too many times.

So tell those thoughts to stay back, start small, join one or two roleplays and see how you develop, get used to it, gain some confidence, make some friends, and get going :). I'll be looking forwards to seeing you around as a fellow roleplayer. :D

Oh dude, I know exactly where you’re coming from. You pretty much just described me at the beginning of me joining STC. I know it’s pretty daunting.

Now this may not work for you, but this is what i’ve learnt after working up my courage: